Middle Grade Books

Guest post—My Ology by Zillah Bethell

We are delighted to welcome Zillah Bethell to the blog today with a guest post on technology: Is it heaven? Or is it hell? Zillah is the author of The Extraordinary Colours of Auden Dare a brilliant new middle grade book in which everyone owns a super cool multi-tasking gadget you strap on like a watch, but had a really interesting childhood with no technology at all. With technology seemingly taking over our lives, it is really interesting to read Zillah’s views on this. We also have a preview for the first two chapters of Auden Dare!

Guest post — Why pirates are books’ enduring badies

We are delighted to welcome to the blog Paul Whitfield, author of the brilliant Pirate McSnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage,  a fast and funny pirate romp for fans of Mr Gum and Barry Loser. Packed with comic art and more gags than you can wave a kipper at, Pirate McSnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage is a fully illustrated, laugh-out-loud pirate romp in which Emilie and her brother William set out to rescue their parents from the horrible and smelly pirate king McSnottbeard. Whisked from the high seas, through prehistoric lands, into an evil wizard’s castle and finally to the pirates’ clifftop hideout, they must tackle dinosaurs, zombies, angry parrots, and at least one warlock…

Book review and competition — The Never-Ending Birthday by Katie Dale

Anni and Max just wish they could start the day again. Their birthday did not go to plan and to make matters worse they both got grounded! But when neither of them can sleep they blow out a candle on their birthday cake and make a wish, to start the day again…

Giveaway — Defender of the Realm by Nick Ostler and Mark Huckerby: books one and two

After the great battle at King Alfie’s coronation, the nation thinks it’s seen the last of the Black Dragon, and Alfie gets busy learning what it means to fill his father’s shoes. But when a band of undead Vikings appears, Alfie, Hayley and the rest of the Yeoman Warders fear that Professor Lock is back to finish what he’s started. For the epic battle that’s brewing, Alfie will need to enlist help from abroad, as well as from a mysterious new friend who seems to be watching over him…

Guest post —The Everything Machine by Ally Kennen

Three kids let loose with a top-secret magical machine with a mind of it’s own . . . What could possibly go wrong? Olly, Stevie and Bird have just had a very special delivery. It’s a machine that has a name, can speak and is able to print anything they want it to. How about a never-ending supply of sweets and a cool swimming pool in the shed, for starters? But is getting everything you’ve ever wished for all it’s cracked up to be?

Welcome to our blog. We are a mum and daughter who love books, and love reading books together. So, we thought we would share our thoughts on some of our favourite books. We’d like to hear what you think too, and any suggestions of new books for us to read.

Enter your email address to subscribe to Powered by Reading and receive notifications of new posts by email.