THE FOOLISH KING: The Secret History of Chess by MARK PRICE, illustrated by Martin Brown

Since last summer Lord Mark Price’s The Foolish King online game has seen young chess players competing from across the world to get to the top of the leader board. Now the winners of the winter and spring league have been announced on the ‘Board of Fame’ and the summer league has started in time for the summer holidays.

Lord Mark Price, has also announced his support for The Delancey UK Schools’ Chess Challenge, where he will be donating copies of The Foolish King book to help promote the game of chess to young people and inspire children to become the chess champions of the future.

Guest post — Why pirates are books’ enduring badies

We are delighted to welcome to the blog Paul Whitfield, author of the brilliant Pirate McSnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage,  a fast and funny pirate romp for fans of Mr Gum and Barry Loser. Packed with comic art and more gags than you can wave a kipper at, Pirate McSnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage is a fully illustrated, laugh-out-loud pirate romp in which Emilie and her brother William set out to rescue their parents from the horrible and smelly pirate king McSnottbeard. Whisked from the high seas, through prehistoric lands, into an evil wizard’s castle and finally to the pirates’ clifftop hideout, they must tackle dinosaurs, zombies, angry parrots, and at least one warlock…

Book review and competition — The Never-Ending Birthday by Katie Dale

Anni and Max just wish they could start the day again. Their birthday did not go to plan and to make matters worse they both got grounded! But when neither of them can sleep they blow out a candle on their birthday cake and make a wish, to start the day again…

Giveaway — Defender of the Realm by Nick Ostler and Mark Huckerby: books one and two

After the great battle at King Alfie’s coronation, the nation thinks it’s seen the last of the Black Dragon, and Alfie gets busy learning what it means to fill his father’s shoes. But when a band of undead Vikings appears, Alfie, Hayley and the rest of the Yeoman Warders fear that Professor Lock is back to finish what he’s started. For the epic battle that’s brewing, Alfie will need to enlist help from abroad, as well as from a mysterious new friend who seems to be watching over him…

Guest post —The Everything Machine by Ally Kennen

Three kids let loose with a top-secret magical machine with a mind of it’s own . . . What could possibly go wrong? Olly, Stevie and Bird have just had a very special delivery. It’s a machine that has a name, can speak and is able to print anything they want it to. How about a never-ending supply of sweets and a cool swimming pool in the shed, for starters? But is getting everything you’ve ever wished for all it’s cracked up to be?

Welcome to our blog. We are a mum and daughter who love books, and love reading books together. So, we thought we would share our thoughts on some of our favourite books. We’d like to hear what you think too, and any suggestions of new books for us to read.

Enter your email address to subscribe to Powered by Reading and receive notifications of new posts by email.